A little bit about my books

Below is a snapshot of my twenty two books. For a more in-depth description of them, please take a look at the My Books section of this website. Happy reading!

Since 2007, I’ve written, designed, published, and marketed more than 20 books single-handedly, which makes me an indie author. In 2015, I began publishing my books on Amazon in paperback and Kindle editions. They are also on Smashwords, Kobo, Barnes and Noble, and Apple Books. Nine of my books are also available as audiobooks on Audible, Amazon, and iTunes.  

My first three books are third-person memoirs and form the Mug Trilogy.  A Slice of the Seventies, The Lying Scotsman, and Straws tell my life story thus far. The audiobook of A Slice of the Seventies is on Amazon, Audible, and iTunes.

Then came Potholes and Magic Carpets, a contemporary character-driven novel following the tangled lives of four couples. The audiobook is on Amazon, Audible, and iTunes.

Random Bullets is a psychological thriller with a paranormal twist set in Jersey, Cornwall, Manchester, and places not of this world. The audiobook is on Amazon, Audible, and iTunes.

Later that year, I published my only non-fiction book, Living with Postcards

In February 2016, I published fourteen of my best short stories in Her Demonic Angel. The audiobook is on Amazon, Audible, and iTunes.

In 2016, I published a contemporary paranormal thriller called The Hostile. That year, I also published Holiday For The Hostile, book 2 in The Hostile series. Book 3 of the series, The Hostile Game, was published in 2017. Later that year, I published book 4, Confronting The Hostile along with The Hostile Series Box Set.

Each of the four books in The Hostile series has an audiobook edition on Audible, Amazon, and iTunes. I narrated book 1. Books 2, 3, and 4 were narrated by Alexander Doddy.

The four audiobooks in The Hostile series are available on Audible, Amazon, and iTunes.

In 2018, I published a psychological thriller called The Trouble with Liam set in Sheffield and Ireland. It’s book 1 of the Trouble series, which can each be read as a standalone like all the other books in the series. The audiobook of The Trouble with Liam is on Amazon, Audible, and iTunes. Books 2, 3, and 4 in The Trouble series are erotic thrillers. They were published in 2020 and 2021 in Kindle and paperback. Book 2 is The Trouble with Trouble, Trouble in Cornwall is book 3, and book 4 is called Troubled.

In July 2021, I published a dark erotic thriller called Nuru and his Crows. In March 2023, I published The Storms of Padstow, book 2 of the series. In 2023, I published book three, Punishing the Innocent.

In February 2022, I published my first novella. The Brothers Grimshaw is a third person memoir set in London in the 1970s.

In mid-2022, I published a contemporary thriller called A Sunny Day In Oldham. A complex double life and a penchant for redheads lead DS Mark Jenkins into great danger. It contains sexually explicit material.

In 2024, I published Friends in Need, a contemporary novel set in Cornwall.

My 9 Audiobooks

Nine of my books are also available as audiobooks on Audible, Amazon, and iTunes. If you buy the Kindle version of my nine books that have audiobook versions on Amazon, you can download their audiobook editions for a fraction of the normal price.

I would love to hear what you think of all my books and audiobooks. You have no idea how much I’d appreciate your review of any of them on Amazon, Goodreads, and Audible.

If you’re in Great Britain, all my books on my Amazon author page in both paperback and Kindle editions can be found here http://amzn.to/1MdXFtz

My Social Media Links

My main author website: https://joymutter.com where you can find my books, blog, Reader’s Corner, excerpts from my books, and more.

Amazon author page: http://amzn.to/2b96qaj

Facebook author page: https://www.facebook.com/JoyMutterAuthor/

Audible author page: http://adbl.co/2sEnfTO

Goodreads author page: http://bit.ly/2YOVuL7

Instagram page: https://www.instagram.com/joy_mutter/

Pinterest author page: https://www.pinterest.co.uk/joyster2006/ 

On Twitter, I’m @joyster2012.


I was born in Jersey in the Channel Islands in the 1950s. After gaining a Graphic Design Degree in Coventry. I lived in NW3 in London for a year before moving to Kent, where I lived near Sevenoaks, got married, and worked as a professional graphic designer for over twenty years. After my divorce in 2002, my daughter headed off to university and I moved to Pembury near Tunbridge Wells.

After developing a chronic back condition in 2012, not wishing to claim benefits, I took the bold, some might say foolhardy action of selling my house in Pembury and moving to Oldham in the north of England in order to help fund my long-held ambition of becoming a full-time published author. I also moved to Oldham to be closer to my daughter who at the time lived in Harrogate. Funnily enough, she moved south again to start a new job about a year after I moved north. She is now the chief editor of a prestigious magazine. It was lovely having her and her husband living near me while it lasted, ha!

I now spend most of my time writing, designing, publishing my books, and marketing them. Nine of my books also have audiobook editions on Audible, Amazon, and iTunes.

I have a small bookshelf close to the leather lounger where I write my books. It contains one copy of each one. I also have another bookshelf containing several copies of each book. I sometimes like to give away books to visitors who show an interest in my work. The sculpture is by my brother, Steven Houiellebecq, who lived in Portugal with his family. Steve was a prolific self-taught sculptor before suffering a severe stroke several years ago. He died in 2023 but I’ll always have the sculpture to remind me of him.