Joy Mutter, author

I was born in Jersey in 1954 and lived on the island until I was eighteen. After gaining a graphic design degree, I married and worked as a graphic designer for 20 years in Kent. I’m now a divorced full-time, multi-genre indie author living happily on my own in Oldham. 

You can find my twenty-plus Kindles and paperbacks on Amazon, Smashwords, Barnes and Noble, Kobo, Apple Books etc. Nine of my books have audiobook editions on Audible, Amazon, and iTunes.

Random Bullets is a contemporary psychological thriller with a paranormal twist. Set mainly in Jersey, Manchester, Cornwall, London, and places not of this world.

The books in the Mug trilogy are A Slice of the Seventies,, The Lying Scotsman,, and Straws These books are all loosely autobiographical.

Potholes and Magic Carpets is a contemporary novel set in rural Kent and London. A tale of not-so-simple folk.

Her Demonic Angel is fourteen of my short stories in various genres. It’s also available as an audiobook.

Living with Postcards is a perfect present from the past. It’s my only non-fiction book and is colour-illustrated throughout.

The Hostile series is an unusual collection of paranormal crime thrillers, mostly set in Manchester. Each can be enjoyed as a standalone.

The Hostile is book 1.,

Holiday for The Hostile is book 2.

The Hostile Game is book 3.

Confronting The Hostile is book 4.

The Hostile Series Box Set

The Trouble series is an ‘outrageous’ collection of either psychological or erotic thrillers. Each can be enjoyed as a standalone.

Book 1, The Trouble With Liam is a psychological crime thriller set in Ireland and Sheffield.

Book 2, The Trouble With Trouble is an erotic detective thriller set mainly in a Sheffield police station.

Book 3, Trouble In Cornwall is an erotic detective thriller set in Cornwall.

Book 4, Troubled is an erotic detective thriller set in Sheffield, involving a grooming gang. 

Nuru And His Crows is an erotic thriller. The perfect lives of Cara and Elke spiral out of control after meeting Nuru and his crows.

I published my first novella, The Brothers Grimshaw, in 2022. It’s based on my time working as a graphic designer for a rundown print firm in London in the 1970s.

In July 2022, I published a dark thriller called A Sunny Day In Oldham.

In March 2023, I published The Storms of Padstow, book 2 of the Nuru and his Crows series. 

In June 2023, I published Punishing the Innocent, book 3 of the same series.

I’ve posted the first three chapters of each of my erotic fiction books on my Sexy Books Corner – Published Page on this website. 

My 9 Audiobooks

The Hostile, Holiday for The Hostile, The Hostile Game, Confronting The Hostile, Random Bullets, Potholes and Magic Carpets, A Slice of the Seventies, Her Demonic Angel, and The Trouble with Liam are all available on Amazon, Audible, and iTunes as audiobooks.

My 9 audiobooks are available on Amazon, Audible, and iTunes.

My 20+ Kindle editions are always free to Kindle Unlimited subscribers.

My Social Media Links

My main author website: where you can find my books, blog, Reader’s Corner, excerpts from my books, and more.

Amazon author page:

Facebook author page:

Audible author page:

Goodreads author page:

Instagram page:

Pinterest author page: 

On Twitter, I’m @joyster2012.

I keep a single copy of each of my books on a small shelf in the living room. My brother Steven made the sculpture.