Joy Mutter, author

I’m Jersey-born and lived on the island for 18 years before working as a graphic designer for 20 years in Kent. I’m now a full-time, multi-genre indie author living in Oldham. I published my psychological thriller, The Trouble With Liam, on Amazon in late 2018. My erotic thrillers, The Trouble With Trouble, and Trouble In Cornwall were published in 2020.  Troubled will be published in late 2020. I’ve posted some chapters of these books on my Sexy Books Corner page on this website. 

Random Bullets is a contemporary crime thriller with a paranormal twist. Set mainly in Jersey, Manchester, Cornwall, London, and places not of this world.

The books in the Mug trilogy are A Slice of the Seventies,, The Lying Scotsman,, and Straws These books are all loosely autobiographical.

Potholes and Magic Carpets is a contemporary novel set in rural Kent and London. A tale of not so simple folk.

Her demonic Angel is fourteen of my short stories in various genres. It’s also available as an audiobook.

Living with Postcards is a perfect present from the past. It’s my only non-fiction book and is colour-illustrated throughout.

The Hostile series is an unusual collection of paranormal crime thrillers, mostly set in Manchester. Each can be enjoyed as a standalone.

The Hostile is book 1.,

Holiday for The Hostile is book 2.

The Hostile Game is book 3.

Confronting The Hostile is book 4.

The Hostile Series Box Set

The Trouble With Liam is a psychological crime thriller set in Ireland and Sheffield.

The Trouble With Trouble is an “outrageous” erotic thriller set mainly in a Sheffield police station.

The Hostile, Holiday for The Hostile, The Hostile Game, Confronting The Hostile, Random Bullets, Potholes and Magic Carpets, A Slice of the Seventies, Her demonic Angel, and The Trouble With Liam are all available on Amazon, Audible, and iTunes as audiobooks.

My 15 Kindle editions are always free to Kindle Unlimited subscribers.

Here is the link to my Amazon author page

The link to my Facebook author page is

The link to my author website is where you can find my blog, reviews of all my books, my reviews of books by other authors, my Goodreads Giveaways, plus excerpts from each of my books.

If you’re in Great Britain, all my books on my Amazon author page, in paperback and Kindle editions, and nine audiobook editions, can be found here

If you’re in America, all my books on my Amazon author page, in paperback and Kindle editions, and nine audiobook editions, can be found here

Since 2007, I’ve written, designed, published, and marketed fourteen books single-handed, which makes me an indie author. In 2015, I began publishing my books on Amazon in paperback and Kindle editions. Nine are also available as audiobooks on Audible, Amazon, and iTunes.  

My first three books are loosely autobiographical and form the Mug Trilogy.  Then followed Potholes and Magic Carpets, a contemporary character-driven novel following the tangled lives of four couples. Random Bullets is a contemporary crime thriller with a paranormal twist. Later that year, I published my only non-fiction book, Living with Postcards

In February 2016, I published fourteen of my short stories in Her demonic Angel, all written in various genres. There’s bound to be something for everyone to enjoy. Her demonic Angel is available in paperback and Kindle as well as an audiobook that I narrated myself. The audiobook is on Amazon, Audible, and iTunes.

In 2016, I published Kindle, paperback, and audiobook editions of another contemporary crime thriller with a paranormal twist called The HostileIn December 2016, I published Holiday for The Hostile, book two in The Hostile. series. Book three of The Hostile series, The Hostile Game, was published in April 2017. I published book four, Confronting The Hostile, in August 2017 along with The Hostile Series Box Set. The four books in The Hostile series have audiobook editions on Audible, Amazon, and iTunes, narrated by Alexander Doddy.

In 2018, I published a psychological crime thriller called The Trouble With Liam set in Sheffield and Ireland.

Book 2 in The Trouble series, an erotic thriller called The Trouble With Trouble was published in 2020. Books 3 and 4, The Trouble With Kate, and Troubled will be published in late 2020. 

Nine of my books are available as audiobooks on Audible, Amazon, and iTunes.

I’d love to hear what you think of all my books, and would greatly appreciate a review from you on Amazon and Goodreads.

If you’re in Great Britain, all my books on my Amazon author page in both paperback and Kindle editions can be found here

A bit about me

I was born in Jersey in the Channel Islands, too many decades ago to mention. I went by the almost unpronounceable name of Joy Houiellebecq until my marriage in 1984, when I became Joy Mutter. I was a professional graphic designer for twenty years after gaining a Graphic Design Degree in Coventry. I lived in London for a year before moving to Kent, where I lived for over twenty years. During my time in Kent, I worked as a graphic designer and became a wife, mother, and divorcee.

After developing a chronic back condition in 2012, not wishing to claim benefits I took the bold, some might say foolhardy action of selling my house in Kent and moving to the north of England in order to help fund my long-held ambition of becoming a full-time published author. I now spend most of my days, including weekends and holidays, writing, designing, publishing on Amazon, and marketing my books in Kindle, paperback. Nine also have audiobook editions.

I have a small bookshelf a few feet from where I write my books containing a copy of each of them. The sculpture was made by my brother, Steven, who lives in Portugal with his family. He used to be a prolific self-taught sculptor before suffering a severe stroke several years ago.