Reviews of my books

Reviews of Random Bullets

I’m delighted that Random Bullets has so far received 23 5-star reviews across all Amazon sites.

Format: Kindle Edition
Quite possibly the most disturbing account of how NOT to lose one’s virginity I’ve ever read in my life. From the beginning of this story until the last any illusions you’ve had about the people around you leading sane and normal lives is thrown to the wind. From the twisted viewpoint of the murderer, to the not so secret disdain for the façade that the “morally” upright people project as a public persona; this book this book not only slays those beliefs, but buries them and comes back after dark to piddle on them while reeling from a fine gibbering madness. A fun romp all the way through.

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

I happened to come across this author purely by coincidence on twitter and I received the book in exchange for an honest opinion. As a blogger it is so easy to get caught up with all the ‘big’ name authors, blog tours or whatever book is being hyped at the time in the blogger community. So on that basis it was an absolute delight to find this hidden gem, it wouldn’t have reached my radar otherwise. Which proves there are so many books and potential enjoyment being missed!

This is a mix of crime and thriller, with an underlying paranormal element which is not my usual preference but it worked so well in this.

There is no slow build up, it’s instant action from the outset. Who doesn’t like being in a park on a hot sunny day, there can be many reasons behind each visit and we are introduced to several characters whose daily activity involves being in that particular London park on that fateful day, when a random gunmen is on the loose.

Edward has many issues, ranging from a troubled childhood up until the events that lead him to the point where he loses his ‘rightful’ inheritance. There is a complex family history and this is where the story unfolds as we learn about the relationships between him and primarily, step-brother Charlie and his nephew Sam. I could easily visualise what slimy little toads these people were!

The reader is taken on the journey between past and present, the young Edward didn’t always behave in a responsible way and his teen love interest makes a re-appearance later in life. I found the parts revolving around him and Janine quite heart-wrenching. As hard as Edward wants to improve himself he is stuck in a downward spiral, some due to his own stupidity but the majority exacerbated by circumstances.

The descriptions of Edward’s living conditions pull emotions in all directions. At times I wanted to shout at him to get a grip and make something of his life instead of making poor decisions or mixing with the wrong people, especially Tommy. But by the next paragraph I was ‘inside’ his head feeling the rage, pain and anguish.

Although the ending was obvious from the outset due to the nature of the story I was totally transfixed and couldn’t wait to see how all the pieces fitted together. Thankfully all the loose ends are tied up nicely to completion. There are a lot of characters involved but the writing style makes it easy to follow.

I really enjoyed this, since finishing it I have been attempting to understand the psyche behind Edward’s thoughts and have come to the conclusion that even the most ordinary people can sink into madness if the provocation is there, quite a scary thought!

I have other books by Joy sitting on my Kindle, just waiting for an opportunity to read them. Based on Random Bullets I think I’m in for a treat. Just reverting back to my comment about ‘meeting’ on Twitter it just shows the importance social media can play in book awareness/promotion.

*****

By TerryHeth on 27 Oct. 2016

Format: Paperback

Edward is troubled. Family is a problem. Life is a problem.
This book mixes Edward as a troubled man taking things further & shooting his nephew, but builds up from his youth which is confusing. The atmosphere is built up introducing us to different people as it goes. It’s all worth it for the full tale.
There is a taste of paranormal, a taste of crazy, a taste of hard life & spoilt life.
I really enjoyed this book. Different to lots of others with a good build up & it actually ends. That’s huge to me!
*****
Michelle rated it 5 stars. It was amazing.
This is a very well thought out book. It starts out letting us know a variety of people and then in the end of the book most of these people are brought together by a certain event. I liked it very much and highly recommend it.The author made wonderful connections with the people and then the ending takes us even further. I can only say that anything can happen to us in the afterlife and the examples in this book were well placed. Worth all five stars!
*****

By John Thys on 21 Aug. 2016

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I found this a very enjoyable book not the usual crime thriller I read but found it easy to get into plus it held my attention from beginning till the end several stories all mingling into one a bit raunchy in places and a bloodbath at the end this is the first joy mutter book I’ve read but it certainly won’t be the last.
Random Bullets man green sky BACK coverSep 01, 2016Tony Parsons rated it:  it was amazing
6/15/2015, London, England. Pauline (accountant, bulimic nervosa, binge eater) was getting ready to start her new job at Bernard Wiggins Advertising Agency (BWAA) close by Hammersmith Park.
They had 2 boys but a daughter had been still-born.
Bob (40+, Pauline’s husband) was a taxi cab driver.1 day Divesh (Indain, tax driver) ask him if he would like to make a little extra money.
Bob agreed. Guess what his other line of work was?
Florence (mother) had disinherited Edward. Charlie (chubby) was Sam’s 1/2-brother, who also lived in Cornwall.
Uncle Edward (62, Edward’s father) lay in wait at the Hammersmith Park & then shot Sam (nephew) in the head.
Marcus (Charlie’s biological father, Edward’s stepfather, wealthy man, resturant owner, Cornwall) had died sometime ago.
Claire (50+, plump, BWAA, illistration dept.) worked with Pauline.
As teens Edward was doing Tracy (f) & Carl (Edward’s BMF, foster child) was doing Moo (f) at/on Jersey beach. They were all 4 on LSD & virgins.Edward was hurt & had been taken to to A&E.
Later Edward “Ed” & Carl went to Manchester U, majoring in electrical engineering.
Charlie married Lara & opened up a Cornish seafood restaurant.
Florence “Flo” (65+) had gone swimming & the cold water caused her heart to stop & she drowned.
Edward was expelled from Manchester U.
Yrs. later Charlie & Lara had Sam Le Cornu (15, son) & then got a divorce over her promiscuous behavior.
Many yrs. later Pauline & Claire were once again on the park bench at Hammersmith Park eating lunch together.
18 months later Claire was PG with James (fiancée, Flemming, Upkirk & Kilbride (FUK), publishing co.) unborn child.
Yrs. later Edward meets Janine by accident. What does she reveal to him?
Edward was paying for a DNA test to see if Danielle was really his daughter.
Janine (Danielle’s mother) was there with him when he opened the envelope.BANG! Stuart (50+, postman) had been shot & Gill (journalist, agricultural magazine) was trying to help him.
Edward Le Cornu (Florence’s son) was getting away.
Charlie, Edward (1/2 Uncle) & Marcus had agreed on terms of the estate after their mother had died.
Battersea area of London. BANG! Pauline (Bob’s wife, accountant) falls to the ground as Claire looks on in horror.BANG! Mungo is next. BANG! & a random bullet hits Maureen.
P.C. Delaney is at the crime scene.
Will Edward get caught?Warning: This book contains extremely graphic adult content, violence, or expletive language &/or uncensored sexually explicit material which is only suitable for mature readers. It may be offensive to some readers.I did not receive any type of compensation for reading & reviewing this book. While I receive free books from publishers & authors, I am under no obligation to write a positive review, only an honest one. All thoughts & opinions are entirely my own.A very awesome book cover, great font & writing style. A fairly well written Paranormal Thriller book. It wasn’t alway very easy for me to read/follow from start/finish, but never a dull moment. There were no grammar/typo errors, nor any repetitive or out of line sequence sentences. Lots of exciting scenarios, with several twists/turns & a huge set of unique characters to keep track of. This could also make another great Paranormal Thriller movie, animated cartoon, or better yet a mini TV series. It was just OK for me but I will still rate it at 5 stars.Thank you for the free Goodreads; Making Connections; Author; PDF book
Tony Parsons MSW (Washburn)
 *****

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

A book of many strands which combine to keep your attention from first page to last. Well written complex characters have our sympathies pulled in many directions and ensure our interest until the final word. An Author whose work I shall follow with much interest and I suspect much enjoyment.
*****

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

Do you know the person you live with…really know? An insightful look behind the many faces we wear, and how burning resentments can take you into madness and murder. A sunny afternoon in the park…what could be nicer?
*****
Five star rating

By Di Drinkwater on 16 Oct. 2015

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

I couldn’t put it down!
Starting with a bang, the story introduces characters and stories that explain the reasons behind the events that unfold.
Murderous revenge wreaks havoc on a Battersea Park.
There’s some interesting side stories that are flung in to tell you more about the characters too. Overall an intriguing read that I needed to finish to discover just what had gone on to send the gunman mad.
*****

By A. Robertson on 5 Nov. 2015

Five star rating

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Thoroughly enjoyed Joy’s book. A great story which I couldn’t put down.
*****

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

Kinetic… really zips along at a pace, i was really drawn in.
*****

Format: Kindle Edition

Action packed, thought provoking, a real ride. I couldn’t put it down. This is the first novel I’ve read by Joy Mutter and I hope it’s not the last.
Recommended reading for those that like their crime with a twist.
eBook version purchased via Amazon.com
*****

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

The story took a turn down a path that was totally unexpected. Even though I am American, I am especially partial to British authors. This one definitely lived up to my expectations.
*****

Shannon Terril (Librarian) has just reviewed Random Bullets.

To add this review to the book page on NetGalley, click here: https://s2.netgalley.com/book/96338/review/153527

Full Text:
This book was a hardcore adventure that kept me frantically turning pages right from the get go all the way to the thrilling conclusion. Edward’s character is what really propelled everything forward (though the writing from Mutter didn’t hurt things either), tying in elements from his past with the very personal mystery surrounding the book. There were also a lot of unexpected elements that were different from what I was expecting but worked together really nicely.

Links:
Review: Random Bullets

Reviews of The Hostile

The Hostile NEW FRONT cover
By Mark Tilbury on 26 April 2017
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

I have to say that as I started this book I wondered if it would be for me or not. It took a little while to get into the story, but once I did, I enjoyed it.

Serena is aware of the wrongs of the world. Aware of problems in her family, bullies causing heartache and misery at school, but powerless to do anything about it. That is until she begins talking to Tile X. As their relationship develops she sees Tile X may have the power she doesn’t.

Parts of the story are dark, but these are balanced out with some humour and more light-hearted moments. Some parts of the tale also seemed quite philosophical in the way they got me thinking about the parts of my life I’m happy with or want to change.

This is a unique and original story and I wonder what’s next for Serena.

*****
Cheryl rated The Hostile 5 star on Goodreads and on Amazon.

Previously, I had been given another book by this author to read as a review copy. This time I noticed on the author’s Facebook page that the book was available for free and so I decided to acquire it.

I confess that this kind of genre isn’t something I’ve read in a while. A mixture between nitty gritty life and family, with a sprinkle of action and a couple of tablespoons of paranormal. The story itself is novel. I read a fair bit of horror in my younger days and the premise of this is not something I’ve encountered before. It’s easy to identify with the characters, you see similar people every day by just looking around you. Perhaps that’s the charm of this book it could be anyone on almost any street.

Joy’s books (or at least the 2 I’ve read) have a flair of drama in them. Not usually my thing but it’s been an interesting break from my usual each time. The story line is interesting and easy to follow. Perhaps my only criticism is that I found the reminders of what was going on a little intrusive but that is more my issue rather than a problem with the book. Other readers may prefer the reminders and there aren’t that many of them that it ruins the flow – just me and my impatience to get on with it!

I’ve since read that Joy is planning a sequel to this book and I confess I’m very curious where that will lead. Whilst the story left off at a place that wasn’t too cliffhanger like to be annoying, it did leave lots of smaller interesting questions unanswered. A sequel that addresses those questions would be very interesting indeed.

It’s a short book so a fairly quick read.

*****

Rebecca Bufton rated The Hostile 3 star (liked it)

Shelves: giveaways

A goodreads win

Serena is a strange lonely middle child from Manchester makes friends with a evil bathroom tile.
This is a very imaginative story & deals with a troubled lonely girl trying to get through life & home and school.
At first I found it a difficult story to get into, but found once I had read about a third I was hooked & enjoyed reading it. It is refreshingly original & wanted to read more.

By Raven on 16 May 2016

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

Great Read – will try this author’s other books now.
*****
5.0 out of 5 stars

By MissScarlett on May 3, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

I just “got” the title a few seconds ago … hopefully, you’ll get it sooner than that. I have to say that I never expected to read a book wherein one of the main characters was a bathroom tile, but I’m glad I did. The prose flows smoothly and it’s very easy to imagine yourself in the characters’ heads. The reader can sympathize with Serena and with many of the other characters, as well as get quite annoyed at them. For the this was mostly a family drama story, with plenty of fantasy sprinkled into the mix, as well as some dollops of unease and creepiness. Plenty of not-too-graphic sexual scenes and details of bathroom visits (which will make you giggle or cringe) are included at no extra cost.
 *****

Joy Mutter is a new author for me, and I have to admit I’m not quite sure how to review this book as it is a bit outside of my usual genres.

Let’s start with “I liked it”. It is a strange and quirky story with an unusual opening scene, an “unhealthy” dose of paranormal, and some Lovecratian elements to it. I found it to be a bizarrely captivating read, and for some reason it made me think of Kafka’s Metamorphosis (although it has been many years since I read that particular story).

The writing itself flows well enough and is very descriptive when it comes to the characters, both at the physical and psychological/emotional levels. The author also does a very good job when it comes to the settings and she is very efficient at making the reader feel/see/experience the various home, relationship and friendship issues that populate The Hostile.

The title does not seem to reveal much about the book, but after having read it, I find the title to be quite clever.

I am curious to see what some of her other novels are like.

Hostile banner advert by Colin Garrow

Reviews of The Hostile audiobook

Hostile test cover audiobook (hand)K. DanielTexas08-26-16
Overall *****
Performance ****
Story *****

“What a fun change!”

What did you love best about The Hostile?

I like that it was different. Joy Mutter has a captivating imagination!

What other book might you compare The Hostile to and why?

It’s like nothing I’ve read before. I was torn between deciding if I was listening to a book intended for an older teen or a 47-year-old lady like myself. There was an innocence about the story. I couldn’t stop listening.

What does Joy Mutter bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

The British accent – definitely!

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes! I like to listen to a story as I do mindless tasks. But I kept finding myself sitting to listen to this one.

Any additional comments?

I received this audiobook from the author in exchange for an honest review. If you are searching for something different, this is the one!

 *****
Elaine M.07-30-16
Overall 4 star
Performance 4 star
Story 4 star
*****
A. D. rated it 5 star. It was amazing

I was provided this audiobook at no charge by the author, publisher and/or narrator in exchange for an unbiased review via Audiobook Boom.

I really, really, really enjoyed this book! I enjoyed being part of lonely little Serenas thoughts. The story was a little out there, but not unfeasible. I enjoyed the drama that played out in between thoughts, it kept me wanting to more and I couldn’t stop listening. The narration was good, and the ending was interesting…even though I was left with some questions, but nothing that will keep me up at night.

I enjoyed it!

“Interesting and Captivating!”

I was not sure about listening to this book but am pleased that I did. Joy Mutter did an excellent job with the plot and characters. In the beginning, I was a little confused as to why there was so much reference to the tiles but finally figured out that a tile was one of the characters which I found to be a different but refreshing twist to a suspense novel.

The story, plot and characters are very well written. The author created and developed the characters in such a way that allows you to become involved with the story and develop a relationship with each character. The book evoked a lot of emotions from me but mainly I felt empathy, sympathy and frustration with all of the characters, which for me made the story much better.

The author chose to do her own narration and did so very well. She has very good pacing and voice inflection. Personally, I would prefer a male voice narrating suspense novels as I find a male tends to add more to the intrigue, suspense and overall creepiness of the story. Again, that is just a personal preference – the author did a great job narrating herself.

I would definitely recommend this book to anyone looking for an intriguing, suspenseful and captivating read/listen!!!

This audiobook was provided by the author, narrator, or publisher at no cost in exchange for an unbiased review courtesy of AudiobookBoom dot com

Overall 4 star
Performance 4 star
Story 4 star

“I’ll never look at tiles the same again!”

I really enjoyed this book, At first the story seemed a bit out there, but as it went on I really enjoyed where it took me!

I recommend! you’ll be pleasantly surprised.

*****

Leslie Fisher rated it really liked it 4 star · review of another edition

Shelves: adult, audio
I really liked this book. Its really creepy to think what it would be like for a child to have so much power – especially when I think of the things I said in haste when I was the same age as the character. Yikes! I’m just glad this book is fiction! 🙂 I thought the story was well-written and the characters were really interesting and entertaining. I listened to the Audible audio version of this book narrated by the author. She did a really good job! I’m always impressed when authors can narrate their stories well. She didn’t really do different voices for the characters that I noticed, but she was still good in that it felt like someone reading a story to me. Her inflection and pacing were good. The only criticisms that I have are that there is too much “dead time” between the chapters, and the quality of the recording was not as good in spots – like maybe the location of recording changed so there are different ambient sounds and echoes. Other than that, I really liked the story. If you like a good creepy book, I would highly recommend this one.

“Strangely different”

This was an intriguing story of a young girl’s obsession with bathroom tile that has the power to make her wishes come true. The story turns dark when the girl finds out her father is having an affair. When she tells the tile how she feels, sinister events begin to happen. The story was interesting, although I could do without some of the references to bodily functions. The author narrates the story herself and does a decent job of it.

Reviews of Holiday for The Hostile

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

Following on from Book 1 (The Hostile), where 12-year-old Serena meets powerful entity Tile X, the story continues as the family and their dead relatives decide to take a holiday to Ireland. Needless to say, staying in a remote village in a grotty house with Keith’s eccentric father, is not Serena’s idea of fun, but she soon learns the old man may not be the easy-going idler he appears. A series of shocking discoveries lead Serena to some equally shocking conclusions, which could shatter the lives of her family. Thankfully, help is at hand in the shape of handsome art-lover Jimmy, who, if she plays her cards right, could be well placed to help her solve the gruesome mystery…

I hadn’t read the first book in this series, and while I think it would be helpful in understanding the background to the characters and their strange lives, it’s certainly not essential. Joy Mutter has taken a rather bizarre idea and turned it into a rather bizarre book. However, she also tells a good story, creates believable and well-rounded (mostly) characters, and has a worrying knack of describing some pretty frightful murders. (Although, as most of them are committed by a bathroom tile, maybe they aren’t murders at all).

With some books, you get an idea where things are going and where they’re likely to end. Not this one. Every chapter was a surprise with new characters and situations and a bunch of wonderfully inventive deaths. Now, I’ve heard rumours about this book being a ‘horror’. Well, maybe it is, maybe it isn’t. It kind of depends on your definition of the genre. There’s a fair bit of frayed flesh and several large portions of blood and guts, so if you’re prone to nightmares, you might want to give it a miss. However, it’s also very funny which for me, nicely offsets the gore.

I thoroughly enjoyed Holiday for the Hostile – it’s a clever and witty book that’ll no doubt generate mixed opinions, not least in terms of its genre. It’ll be interesting to see what other readers think of it, but I reckon Ms Mutter has carved out a new niche for herself. And from where I’m standing, she’s way out in front.

on 17 January 2017

I have never read anything like this crime/thriller/supernatural book. At first, I was not comprehending what I was reading only because my mind had to wrap around this very clever, unique idea. But once I got into the story, I really enjoyed it. I was surprised by it too, because the story would detour off into a totally different direction that what I thought it would go. There were ghosts, serial killers, investigators, a floozy mother, a grandpa with secrets and a very weird 14-year old girl. Her best friend is Tile X. Who is this Tile X? I don’t really know, but he loves to kill people in bizarre ways and in his words: “I’m not Marry Poppins. I’m the anti-Mary Poppins.” Only he knows his ultimate, master plan. Sounds like Book III is on the horizon!

I recommend this story for people who want to get into something different, who believe in ghosts and think outside the box. This book will scare you (I chuckled a few times too), and may even make you detour around the tile and carpet area at Home Depot.

Author Joy Mutter does a great job of taking a unique idea and running with it, and putting it into words in a way that others can understand her complex left-brain thinking. Kudos to a well told story.

on 6 January 2017

I enjoy reading something a little different and this paranormal adventure has all the ingredients that make a great and absorbing story. Though unusual, it’s essentially the story of misfit teenager, Serena, out of sorts and out of place in the mundane world around her. Nothing unusual there, until you realise she’s befriended by a powerful ‘force’ that can grant her darkest wishes. As she struggles to cope with the results of her past wishes, she’s faced with new threats on a family holiday in Ireland.

Imaginative, irreverent, and packed full of colourful characters, the unusual and outlandish events Serena precipitates seems quite normal, thanks to great writing and storytelling, underpinned by a lovely, wry sense of humour that urges you to simply enjoy the thrilling ride.

Whatever your preferences, a great story is a great story and Holiday for the Hostile kept me absorbed and entertained from start to finish. I loved it and eagerly await the next book in the series.

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

The first few chapters are a reminder as to what happened in book one the hostile so if you haven’t read it not to worry you can catch up from here the fun starts when Serena and family set off on holiday to Ireland having regained her sight and found tile x under her brother’s bed it’s not long before tile x starts following orders and causing yet more blood-thirsty killings I won’t give too much of the storyline away but there’s a novel idea for bird feeders and I’ll think twice before using a lift it’s described as a paranormal thriller and it has plenty of scary bits so if you don’t like scary bits then maybe it’s not the book for you but I personally can’t wait till book three is out

 

Format: Kindle Edition

Joy Mutter’s follow up to Hostile is an interested piece of work. I sometimes feel the author is writing very tongue in cheek and the next moment turns around and kills someone off totally unexpectedly and at times in quite a gruesome manner. The “action” moves to Ireland this time (hence the Holiday) with lots of unforeseen consequences, and with 2 guardian ghosts looking out for Serena, acting almost like Bill and Ben at times, there really is some light hearted moments.
The end is a total surprise. Was expecting a skeleton in the family closet, but it turns in a completely different direction, keeping you on your toes and guessing. I’m still not sure what to make of this Mr (tile) X, whether he’s a baddie with a soft spot? This is certainly an original story and in my opinion, actually better than it’s predecessor. I’ll definitely look out for the next novel as I understand there’s still another 12 tiles to go.

 

By jn752 on 4 Dec. 2016

Format: Kindle Edition

This is the second book of the author’s, and I haven’t been disappointed yet. Along with the suspense is an element of mirth, that adds an even greater depth and makes the story a more interesting read. We’re familiar with the characters, since this is a series, and their character continues to develop here. Things we thought we knew about them are challenged, adding a greater element of intrigue to the story. This is a series worth the read.

By TerryHeth on 2 Dec. 2016

Format: Kindle Edition

Excellent. The story got deeper & you get to know more about Serena & Tile X drops a deep hint!
I enjoyed the 1st Hostile but this 1 just got more into it. Really looking forward to more. Joy tells a good tale
banner-for-holiday-for-the-hostile

Reviews of Her demonic Angel

Audiobook cover plus text Her demonic Angel

“Great stories”

Overall 5 star
Performance 5 star
Story 5 star

Being a drama and paranormal fan I loved it! Very intriguing stories that keep you wanting more.

(This review was for the audio book from a lady called Melissa)

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

A fantastic collection of stories. Loved her writing style and the characters she creates. A real talent!

 

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

This is an interesting collection of short stories.
*****

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

Another of Joy’s books I enjoyed.
*****
ufo28 rated it 5 stars. Iit was amazing
That was a very good collection of short stories.All of them were quite unique and intriguing.They are dark but not gripping, a good choice for winter evenings. You can find here anything from a story about an arsonist, a lonely widow, romance and divorce.
*****
Emma Griffiths rated a book 5-stars. it was amazing
Her demonic Angel by Joy Mutter
Her demonic Angel
by Joy Mutter (Goodreads Author)

*I won this in a GoodReads Giveaway!*

I really enjoyed reading this book – Joy covers a wide range of interesting story-lines and fascinating characters! A brilliant read for anyone who likes something a little darker.

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase

I am happy to see a Renaissance in the Reading of short stories and Ms Joy Mutter’s stories are an excellent example of the genre.
She is a born story teller and I particularly enjoy her style of writing and the way she draws her readers into her intimate circle and ensures you read it to the last word.
If you have never read Ms Mutter’s work before, Her demonic Angel and other short stories is a good place to start.

Reviews of The Hostile Game

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Oh my poor Serena. She’s older & wiser? Things aren’t getting easier for her & Tile X is enjoying his control way too much! Then Melanie turns up and well the game is on, you have to read to believe. A great follow up and though the story will continue, some answers are given, not all, that’s to follow, one reader here is happily waiting for more!
Though part of a series and it’s a series you will need to read, you could read this alone, but really you need to start at book 1!
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

The third book in this series finds Serena facing her biggest challenge yet – as if being eighteen and pregnant wasn’t enough, she finds out what the mysterious Tile X has in store for her. With tarty Patricia tempting her boyfriend, a load more gory murders on the cards and the police starting to make connections, can Serena keep the psycho slayer in check, or will he get what he wants?

Setting up a bathroom tile as her prime suspect, you might think author Joy Mutter would have found it difficult to come up with a realistic plotline. But no, instead, she puts her foot down in the third installment of this paranormal thriller series and notches up yet more gruesome killings in wonderfully inventive ways. And it’s not only the murderous Tile X who gets to vent his ceramic spleen – Serena’s character develops very nicely when she discovers she’s not the only one who keeps a homicidal maniac close to her chest.

Though the premise might be slightly ludicrous, and some of the murders a wee bit gory for those of a gentle disposition, Ms Mutter has a knack of writing interesting, believable characters who draw us into their weird world, forcing us to keep reading to find out where the hell we’re going on this crazy, fascinating journey.

If this particular author ever turns her skills to writing about average, homicidal psycho killers, we’ll be in for a rare treat indeed.

*****
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Four years have passed since the last book Holiday for the Hostile in which Serena was involved with several violent deaths including her one-time love of her life Jimmy Poodle. Here we find Serena is pregnant by Jake, a one-time school friend who upsets Selena that much she told Tile X who had Jake’s legs crushed so he wouldn’t be so attractive to the other girls at school. Serena has also been told by Tile X his boss, the Host, is involved in a game in which the one that achieves the most violent deaths is the winner so Serena had better start instructing Tile X to commit more killings. I was surprised by this book as the first half is almost like an enjoyable normal story. it’s not till you get halfway through that the weird and wonderful stuff starts. I won’t say any more or it will spoil the surprises but I think this is the best of the three and a real twist at the end. Could there be more to come I wonder?

Format: Kindle Edition

A really great follow up to Joy Mutter’s Holiday novel, though there is enough backstory in this one to catch up very quickly, it will easily read as a standalone novel. This is a PN horror thriller well off the beaten track. An original premise,using original characters that you will quickly love and hate, and a clever twist at the conclusion. – I honestly did feel sorry for Serena in this story. The background to Tile x and Joe are expanded upon in this story, so it is all now falling into place. If you like your thrillers with a touch of weirdness, you’ll love this one.

Reviews of The Hostile Series Box Set

I purchased this box set because the books sounded interesting. Not having read any of the author’s works before, I wasn’t quite sure what to expect. Once I started reading book #1, I found this book to be a really excellent read. In fact all 4 books are truly excellent. The storyline is unlike anything that I have read before. Each book can in theory be read as a stand alone novel because at the start of each book, the author gives a brief outline of previous events. Personally, I prefer to read a series of books in numerical order. There is some gore, but there is also humour. I had a good laugh especially with the banter between Keith and Carl. All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable read. Hopefully, there are going to be further books in the series. The ending of book #4 certainly leaves the storyline wide open for a continuation, so I am hoping there are.

I do not want to give many spoilers, so will give a brief blurb:

Serena Drummond lives in Manchester with her dysfunctional family. She has a disability and unfortunately the school bullies pick on her and make her life terrible. Serena has no friends and at home spends a lot of her time in the bathroom. To her amazement one of the tiles (whom she calls Tile X) starts talking to her and a strong bond forms between them.

Serena’s father Keith, an unemployed layabout, starts having an affair with Rachel, who is basically a nymphomaniac. Beatrice, Keith’s wife, finds out about the affair and they end up having an almighty row and Beatrice asks him to leave. Serena has heard all the arguing and is telling Tile X all about her father’s indiscretions and wishes that he was dead. Keith having nowhere to go, decides to visit his friend Carl who lives on Saddleworth moor. He catches the bus, a freak snowstorm starts and Keith, after getting off the bus, has about a mile to walk to his friend’s house. Being the macho man that he his, his clothing is most unsuitable for this extreme weather. The snowstorm is unlike anything that he has ever seen before, the snowflakes are enormous. Unfortunately, he loses his way and ends up freezing to death.

The story continues as to how Tile X gradually builds his hold over Serena. Strange unexplained deaths keep happening that the police cannot solve. By book #3, the years have passed and Serena now 18 years old, knows about Melanie Scarfe, who lives in Liverpool. Melanie is also being controlled by a similar tile to Tile X, her tile has the name of Joe. They have found out that Tile X and Joe are in competition with each other – their respective bosses the Host and Hostess are actually playing a game. Serena and Melanie decide that they have had enough of the tiles controlling their lives, so Serena comes up with a plan as to how they can get rid of the tiles from their lives.

By book #4, ex Superintendent John Morris and DCI Damon Flint, are being controlled. Damon comes up with a plan to rid John and himself of the dredded tiles. The plan appears to work, but have they managed to destroy the evil tiles?

I’m now waiting for the next book in the series to find out what happens.

on 19 September 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

Reviews of Potholes and Magic Carpets

Revised Potholes and Magic CarpetsI absolutely LOVE Ms. Mutter’s writing style

By Amazon Customer on December 16, 2015

Five star rating

Format: Paperback

I absolutely LOVE Ms. Mutter’s writing style. Her descriptions are captivating to me, as a lifelong fan of all things “British”, I enjoy her humor and the clarity with which she delivers her characters. I feel like I know them well by the time I’m well into each chapter.
This title is on my Christmas list for myself! MERRY CHRISTMAS TO ME! Thanks for sharing your wonderful talents!
*****

Luisa rated Potholes and Magic Carpets 5-star.  It was amazing  · review of another edition Shelves: giveaway-wins-2016

I won a copy of this book in the Goodreads giveaway

I loved this book. I could not put it down, it has a great mix of characters, each linked to each other in some way, it’s a story mostly about how your past affects your life, and how insecurities, can affect your relationships and life in general,
I sometimes find that when books have too many characters I don’t always care about them, this didn’t happen with the book, i really wanted to know more about every one of them,

 *****

By Cheryl Jackson on 17 Dec. 2015

Four star rating

Format: Kindle Edition

I was given this book free in exchange for a fair review. Joy Mutter is a new-to-me author. Like with any new author it takes you a chapter or two to get used to the particular style of a new author. The writing is easy to follow and uncomplicated. The book itself is a fairly quick read.

The book follows the lives that intertwine with others and the events within those peoples lives. One persons actions lead to a particular consequence which impacts (or doesn’t) on another. it’s an interesting set up. Fans of the dramatic will enjoy the events as they unfold, the humanists will enjoy seeing the lives woven with other lives – which are sometimes strangers.

I will be interested to read other Joy Mutter books and see where her style of writing leads to and what I make of it in the future.

*****

Here is a screenshot of a Facebook post that I was delighted to receive from a lovely lady in America who bought a copy of my Potholes and Magic Carpets book.

Annie Potholes and magic carpets fb photo

Revised Potholes and Magic CarpetsAndrea Miles rated it 5 stars it was amazing

First thing forget the blurb, the stories take place over years not just 2015. The book tells the stories of couples linked to a small Kent village. In most cases there is one overbearing, if not downright abusive, partner who gets their comeuppance.

It is written in such a way it is hard to put down because you WILL want to know what will happen next and you end up caring about the characters and will want them to be happy.

I got this book as part of the Goodreads giveaway and I’m glad I did as I would not have though about buying it

Format: Kindle Edition

This author has become one of my favorites. One of the things I like most about her work, is the artful way in which she weaves her character’s faults in with their virtues. It leaves you wondering what the character will do next, and I’ve never been disappointed.

If you like complex characters and strong story, you’ll like this book.

Reviews of Living with Postcards

Living with Postcards FRONT cover newFive star rating
on December 19, 2015
To observe the past in its true reality, you must glimpse the individual, personal lives of those who lived there. This book shows you a way into the real humor, trends, sexuality, and political views of a bygone era. It allows you to see the type of unfiltered reality we rarely get to experience. The artwork contained on these postcards is strange, beautiful, and even naughty at times. I would recommend this book to anyone who appreciates history, humor, and beauty.
*****
Here is a screenshot of a six second Vine that another lovely American lady made to show the world because she loved my Living with Postcards book so much. I was so touched by the trouble she took to make this.
Teresa Living Postcards photo
Mrs Zippy Reviewed Living with Postcards by Joy Mutter
product rating 5 starsA Delightful Book
2016-02-06

The author shares her impressive knowledge of vintage postcards in an entertaining and informative style. Brimful of lovely reproductions it is never dull. A book to read from cover to cover or to dip into. Certainly a book to revisit. Living With Postcards makes an imaginative present, even to someone like me who has no particular interest in postcard collecting.
I can thoroughly recommend it.

*****

Format: Paperback
I now feel quite educated about postcards. The book reminded me of the ones my grandmother had tucked away in a drawer, beautiful old cards. I know what Joy means about it feeling intrusive reading the messages on the other side though. I’d love to see a book of postcard messages though!
This book has a really wide selection of cards that gives you a real glimpse into the past designs and styles. I recognised some of the artists too. I was pleased that the cheeky postcards of my own childhood got a mention too – these were the ones my dad scoured the racks outside shops selling buckets and spades. I always used to send ones with pictures of the place I was at on!
They are a part of all of our history and a wonderful way to look into the past. This book explores a lovely range of cards.
This is a lovely book and would make a nice gift for someone interested in postcards.
*****
Living with Postcards 
by Joy Mutter (Goodreads Author)

69270382

Anniegirl‘s review

Aug 25, 2017
5-star

bookshelves: 2017-readsartnon-fiction

When I was reading the author’s Hostile series of books (which I was thoroughly enjoying) I decided to have a look at what other books she had published and spotted this one. I’ve always loved looking at old postcards and this book sounding interesting, so I purchased the Kindle version. Once the book had downloaded to the Kindle app on my tablet (so that I could view the postcards in full colour) I immediately flicked through the entire book looking at all the postcards. I was impressed. I have a relative that has a large postcard collection and thought to myself, that the paperback edition would make a great gift for her, so I went back online and purchased the physical book which I will give her at Christmas.

I’ve now finished reading the Kindle version and thoroughly enjoyed it. This is a lovely read and the information given about the history etc., of postcards is excellent. Recently, I’ve been scanning all my mother’s photograph collection etc., and came across one particular postcard of a man sat in a very small racing car. Quite different to the one shown in this book. I thought to myself what a weird looking postcard (the one that I have) lol – thanks to this book, I now know why this type of postcard was produced.

An excellent book that deserves a 5* rating.

*****

Reviews of A Slice of the Seventies

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

A thoroughly gripping read – it will make you boogy. Anyone old enough, young enough, or hip enough to have known what ‘boogy’ meant ‘back in the day’ had a book inside them that could or should have been written. This book definitely had to be written. ‘Back in the day’ was 1967 to 1970 or at a wider reckoning 1965 to 1972 – and Joy Mutter’s memoirs begin when that Surreal psychedelic epoch had erupted into mainstream life in Britain. She becomes one of the self-chosen few who saw and heard Jimi Hendrix at the Isle of Wight in 1970 and form the she hits Art School – the ‘Hogwarts of Hippie’. She discovers Eastern spirituality and runs the gamut of the colour of the times. Joy Mutter neither glamorises nor pedestrianises the times. She is disarmingly honest and direct in her portrayal of herself and others: yet has such a light touch, that her romance which begins with rescuing her future partner from the noose of his theatrical mock suicide passes as part of the general flow of weirdness. What else would one expect at that time? I have studied and written about this period of British cultural history – and find this book completely delightful. Now you don’t need Dr Who’s TARDIS – you have ‘A Slice of the 70s’.
Five star rating

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

A very easy read as you get sucked into the world of’ Mug’. through the eyes of an art student. A vivid and lively description of the times (Isle of Wight festival, IRA, sit-ins) but mostly the fly on the wall observations of a girl in her first throws of independence and how she deals with life. Upbeat but touchingly honest.

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

A good portrayal of a spirited young girl’s adventures in the seventies.
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
“A Slice Of The Seventies” is the first part of Joy Mutter’s semi-autobiographical account of a teenage girl’s passage into womanhood. Part I of the trilogy chronicles her university years, including the ups-and-downs of her first long-term relationship. As such, it is a subject that will probably appeal to women more than men. However, the author has a breezy, witty style that made this a fun read for this guy even so. In particular, she has a sharp eye for all those little details of life in early 1970s Britain that makes it a rewarding trip down memory lane, as well as an illuminating study of what it meant to be a student during those heady sex-and-drug addled years.
*****

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

A good insight into student life in the seventies if it’s true that this is a partly true story then this authoress has had plenty of trials and tribulations a good read as well may I add another two more books I understand in this series will look forward to reading them

Reviews of The Lying Scotsman

Four star rating
By saxali on 14 Aug. 2015

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

A brutally honest account of subject matters not often written about.
An insight into the darker side of love and deception.